What is wrong with Starbucks in Argentina?

Starbucks Coffee

First let me acknowledge that I am a huge loser for going to Starbucks while living in a foreign country. I know that for most Canadians this is the epitome of uncool. Like, why would I go to Starbucks when I could experience legitimate Argentine java? I know, you make sense, I get it.

I am afraid to confess that I have gone to Starbucks a few times since being here and I’m frustrated. Mostly because I can’t seem to get anyone to understand what kind of coffee I need: brewed coffee. I mean it isn’t that hard is it? Plus, why does everyone look at me like I have three heads when I suggest that I would like to pour milk into my coffee?

Living in a foreign country can be difficult, especially if you don’t speak the language. Personally I have been coping really well, and perhaps I should be throwing myself more into the culture, but again, I think I’m doing the best I can. I think from now on, I am going to write what I want on a piece of paper and hand it to the person behind the counter. This way they probably won’t ask me questions that I can’t understand.

Most frustrating is when I explain to an Argentine that I don’t speak or understand Spanish, they continue to speak to me in Spanish. I mean, what’s up with that?

On Friday I started my teaching job and I took a class with a group of British teachers and I made some friends. They invited me to a party they are throwing next Thursday and I accepted. I thought why not? I know I should be trying to learn Spanish but I also need friends. I have no friends here. Did you hear me? No friends!

I also had a job interview for a research coordinator position and I really hope I get it. The people who worked there seemed very friendly and I know that I would excel at the job.

By the way, going back to coffee, can anyone tell me how I can order a grande bold coffee in Argentina? This is proving impossible for me to ask and explain. HELP ME!

2 thoughts on “What is wrong with Starbucks in Argentina?

  1. Oh, you were up against coffee snobbery… seems to shoot both ways in this piece! Which make it’s a lovely, complex read! When just a regular Joe would do, what kind of beans did they use there? The same as here?

Leave a Reply

