About love….

Love

My friend Michelle is in Italy teaching and we’ve been emailing back and forth. We seem to have parallel lives which is what attracted us to each other to begin with. Sometimes you meet someone and the chemistry is so intense that you wonder, “Where the hell has this person been my whole life?” Well that’s how I feel about Michelle.

We’ve been chatting about love, and I made a comment about how we will do anything for love, but do so little to keep it. She wrote back with this great sentiment and I wanted to share it here:

“How right are you about love.  It’s so true…we expend so much energy presenting these false sides of ourselves and then move right into taking each other for granted once the ‘goal’ has been achieved.  As a culture, it amazes me how little we know about love…perhaps that’s why we hurt each other so often and so blindly.”

Love is a concept that is almost impossible to describe. I mean we try to verbalize our love, but it’s more a feeling I think. You know deep down how you feel about someone and the words “I love you” are meant to encapsulate these emotions. When we convey our love to someone, we then treat it as licence to take each other for granted. We let everything get in the way including work, money and children.

I wonder if we collectively remained silent and still in the arms of a lover for eternity, if we would be happier. I know I would.

Obelisk of Buenos Aires

Obelisk of Buenos Aires

In the distance you can see the Obelisk of Buenos Aires. Apparently it’s a national historic monument and an icon of Buenos Aires. I will always fondly remember it for being covered by a giant pink condom to commemorate World AIDS Day on December 1, 2005.

Puente de la Mujer

Puente de la Mujer

Puente de la Mujer

I was a big tourist today but the weather was begging for long walks around major landmarks. Puente de la Mujer, or Woman’s Bridge, is a footbridge in the Puerto Madero district of Buenos Aires. Many of the streets in the district have women’s names, thus giving the bridge inspiration for its moniker. The bridge actually swings 90 degrees to allow large boats to pass and rests on a pylon in the middle of the water.

Franco at Puente de la Mujer

La Boca

La Boca

Today I went to La Boca with Javier, Lucas and Ramiro. This colourful barrio maintains a European flavour with many of its early settlers arriving from Italy. I spent all my time in Caminito which is a street museum decorated with vibrantly painted homes and restaurants. Geographically it does not inhabit a large area of Buenos Aires but it is worth exploring on a lazy weekend.

Eva Peron is everywhere

Eva Peron is everywhere!

I tease that Eva Peron’s presence in Argentina can be found everywhere. Argentines have this cavalier attitude about their history and Eva’s international image, as though it’s not that big a deal. Yet you can’t turn a street corner without finding some reference to her or her husband Juan.

While in La Boca I had some pizza and beer.

Pizza in La BocaPerhaps this isn’t the healthiest choice considering I had cheese ravioli the night before at a vegetarian restaurant called Sattva. But I was hungry and hadn’t eaten breakfast. The Arugula on this pizza had literally been thrown on by the chef. Clearly he thought that no one in their right mind would want vegetables on their pizza!

The weather today was very warm and sunny. In fact the sun was so strong that I have a splitting headache but I’ll live.

Chau.

La Boca

La Boca