Woman hears her own voice for the first time

For many of us, hearing our own voice is something so commonplace, we don’t even give it a second thought. But for someone like Sloan Churman who was born deaf, there couldn’t be a sweeter sound.

Churman received a new hearing implant after a lifetime of wearing hearing aids, so at age 29, she heard her own voice for the very first time. She posted this video online of how she reacted the moment it was turned on.

The Rosie Show

Rosie O’Donnell returns to television on October 10th with The Rosie Show, airing on The Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) Monday to Friday at 7 p.m. I’m a big Rosie fan and a little disappointed that I won’t be able to see it because I’m in Argentina.

I hope it’s a success and saves the fledgling OWN network.

Go Rosie. Below is one of my favourite segments during her tenure on The View.