Woody Allen: A Documentary

My favourite film director.

It’s a bitch to grow up

It’s been 10 years of investment/ It’s been one foot in and one out/ It’s been 4 days of water shed/ and I feel snuffed out/ It’s been 33 years of restraining/ Of trying to control this tumult/ How I did invest in such fantasy/ But my nervous system has worn out

I feel done, I feel raked over coals/ And all that remains is the case/ That it’s a bitch to grow up/ I’ve repeated this dance ad-nauseum/ There’s still something to learn that I’ve not/ I’m told to see this as divine perfection/ But my bones don’t feel this perfection

I feel done, I feel raked over coals/ And all that remains is the case/ That it’s a bitch to grow up

I’ve spent life hovering above bottom/ Thinking I can’t survive what’s below/ But I’ve known through the kicking and screaming/ That there was no other direction to go

I feel done, I feel raked over coals/ And all that remains is the case/ That it’s a bitch to grow up

The Dirty War

Wall of the fallen

Names of those who were murdered

From 1976 to 1983 Argentina was ruled by state-sponsored violence. Called the Dirty War, thousands of left-wing activists were murdered.

The entrance

The entrance

Children of the victims were ultimately raised by their kidnappers. Only now are many of them learning the truth about their biological parents, a long and difficult process, as you can imagine.

The Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo, is the best-known Argentine human rights organization. For over ten years, the Mothers have campaigned to find out about the fate of their lost relatives. The Mothers first held their vigil at Plaza de Mayo in 1977, where they continue to gather every Thursday afternoon.

Thrown from planes

Men and women were thrown from planes into the river near by, where they died

An article of the Madres of the Plaza de Mayo monthly publication caused quite a stir in the mid-1980s, when the Human Rights Group Familiares were quoted as saying: “Familiares assumes the causes of their children’s fight as their own, vindicates all the disappeared as fighters of the people, and understands (…) for which these disappeared people fought…”

River

Behind me is the river where many victims met their fate

In 1986 the Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo split into two groups: Las Madres de Plaza de Mayo – Linea Fundadora, remains focused in recovering the remains of the missing and bringing former police and military commanders to justice. The Asociacion de Madres de Plaza de Mayo oppose any search for and identification of the missing and have also rejected monetary compensation.

The wall

The wall of names goes on forever -- close to 30,000 Argentines were murdered by their own government

However you look at the rich and complicated history of Argentina there is no denying how much they have suffered: economically, politically and socially.

South American history

A totalitarian regime has ruled almost every country in South America at one time during the last 50 years

Being at the monument was another reminder of how lucky I am.

Friday night then Saturday morning

Sunday morning coffee

Yours truly

Buenos Aires gay pride

Argentine flag

I'm obsessed with the Argentine flag

It was supposed to start at 6 p.m. but in typical fashion Buenos Aires gay pride was delayed. In Argentina protesters have the legal right to stop traffic for hours for whatever cause they believe in. It’s frustrating if you’re a driver, but fantastic if you’re a participant. Many times while returning home from work I have found myself confronted by a spirited demonstration at Plaza de Mayo.

I had only learned last weekend that gay pride would be held in Buenos Aires on November 5th. Everyone I spoke to appeared ambivalent about the event, and I thought I would be the only person there to celebrate. I was pleasantly surprised when stepping off the subte to find a growing group of men and women of all colours, sizes and ages band together in solidarity to demand visibility.

Unlike Toronto, where the parade is more of a spectator sport, Buenos Aires pride is all inclusive, and everyone can participate. It really is a march.

My favourite highlight was public drinking; vendors were selling beer everywhere.

Below are some thumbnails of the photos that I took, in no particular chronological order.

Argentine National Congress

Where the march ended

Kiss-in

At the end -- kiss!

Eva Peron watches over

Evita is always present

So many people

So many people!

These boots were made for walking

...were made for walking

Viva Revolution!

Viva Revolution!

Yours truly

Yours truly

Straw lady

Straw lady

The demonstrators

The demonstrators

Confetti

Confetti!

Ewwww

Gross!

Snow White

Snow White

Dildo crafts

A station to decorate a dildo!

Pink lady

Pink lady

Flags

There were a lot of flags

Buenos Aires pride parade

And we're marching!

Silver lining

No underwear

Stunning beauty

Stunning beauty