Lunch

Fisherman

I’ve been experimenting with the black and white setting on my camera. I caught these two fishermen on their lunch this afternoon. I think it turned out all right. One more below.

Fishing in Rio De La Plata

Fishing in Rio De La Plata

A perfect day in Vicente Lopez

Blue and purple. Divine.

I know I’m over sharing! Turn the channel if you don’t like. These are some of the photos I took at Vicente Lopez this afternoon.

The bridge to no where

The swamp

Vicente Lopez

Anfiteatro

Seating

Dog walker

Colegio Franco Argentino

Colegio Franco Argentino

The college that bears my name has been defaced. I’m outraged.

Persicco

Persicco

The best ice cream in Buenos Aires can be found at Persicco. There are locations all over Argentina, including San Isidro, where I snapped these photos this afternoon. Folks back home might find it interesting that ice cream delivery is very common in Buenos Aires. Now that’s my kind of town.

Persicco interior

Classic vanilla and chocolate

Classic vanilla and chocolate

Wear sunscreen and other musings

This is a very powerful video. It gets better and better.

The night of the museums

The crowds were intense so I attended only one exhibit last night. Facultad de Derecho promised flying acrobats, but what they delivered were dancers on stairs! It was still fun to watch.

Afterwards I went to eat some mushroom risotto. The service, as usual, tested my patience. Is it so hard for servers in this city to get my order right? I sat for 90 minutes before my terrible food arrived. No one bothered to ask me if I wanted another beer and the place wasn’t even half full.

What was unusual was that even porteños were complaining about the horrendous service. I left without leaving a tip. I have never done that in my life.

The service in Argentina is atrocious. I have never seen anything like it in my life. For instance, this morning at Starbucks, I ordered a grande café Americano con leche con cuatro shots. What did I get? A small without leche. This is quite typical.

I have never been this frustrated with servers in my life. Why work in the customer service field if you don’t give a shit about your customers? I mean, come on! The cultural attitudes towards clients is the reason so many places can’t stay in business.

Excuse my rant!