Morrones en Escabeche y Berenjenas en Escabeche

Morrones en Escabeche

Morrones en Escabeche

Ramiro’s grandmother made two jars of Pickled Peppers and Eggplant over the holidays. They sat in the refrigerator enticing me when I returned to Buenos Aires yesterday. Of course I ate more than my fair share but they were too delicious to pass up. I especially appreciated the heavy dose of garlic. Now I need cake. Where’s my cake?

Morrones en Escabeche y Berenjenas en Escabeche

Morrones en Escabeche y Berenjenas en Escabeche

My dish

My dish. Yummy.

Garlic

Garlic. I love it so much.

I ate every last bit and then watched as the sun set over the horizon.

Sunset

Sunset in Belgrano

The Iron Lady featurette

I went to see The Iron Lady last Friday and although I found the film underwhelming, Meryl Streep’s performance is nothing short of phenomenal. Her portrayal as Margaret Thatcher will secure her third Oscar in February. At least that’s what I hope and think.

Here is a featurette about the film. It’s almost ten minutes long but Streep and director Phyllida Lloyd discuss the film’s major themes. You may find it interesting. I did.

Albert Nobbs featurette

Albert Nobbs is currently in limited release in New York and Los Angeles. The movie is being touted as Glenn Close’s passion project since she originated the role in the stage production back in 1982. She subsequently spent over 15 years trying to bring the story to the theatres.

Here in this short featurette she discusses the process involved to transition from a woman who poses as a man to survive in 19th Century Ireland.

Close wrote and produced the film as well as wrote the lyrics to the song that was performed by Sinead O’Connor.

Pariah

A person without status. A rejected member of society. An outcast.

There is no such thing as bad pizza in Buenos Aires

Anyone who tries to convince you otherwise should be shot.