Skeletor in Buenos Aires

Street art in Buenos Aires

Skeletor in Buenos Aires

24′x16′ mural by Argentine artist Emy Mariani in Palermo. I am enamoured with how beautiful it is.

After my run this morning I read this great article in La Nacion about street art in Buenos Aires. One of Buenos Aires’ many admirable qualities is its tolerance of wide spread graffiti art. The law is so forbearing that many street artists from around the world come here because they know they will not be pursued like they would be in the United States, Canada or some European countries.

As soon as I read the article I ran out the door to snap some photographs. I couldn’t believe my eyes.

Under the bridge

Under the bridge near Avenida Libertador beside Skeletor was this colourful piece of art

Princess

She looks like a princess

Blue fairy

Would this be a fairy? I have no idea. No, it's not a fairy. I just answered my own question.

One more look at Skeletor

One more look at Skeletor

Parques Tres de Febrero a.k.a. Bosques de Palermo (Palermo Woods)

Bosques de Palermo

Bosques de Palermo

As an avid runner what better place is there to hit the pavement than Parque Tres de Febrero — also known as Bosques de Palermo (Palermo Woods) — in the Buenos Aires barrio of Palermo? Okay the answer to this question is obviously rhetorical, because there is no better place.

Summer in Argentina is humid, unlike anything this Canadian has ever experienced, and I have to be more cautious running outside in the scorching temperatures. I rose early this morning before it got too hot and made my way over to the park for a run.

Known for its groves, lakes and famous Rose Garden, Parque Tres de Febrero is insanely busy on the weekends, and virtually dead during the weekdays. However, it was more bearable this morning than usual as Porteños escape the city during the summer weekends for greener pastures.

You can spend hours just sitting and people watching, and for a gay man, there’s plenty of eye candy.

Bosques de Palermo is a city park of 62 acres with boat rides available on three artificial lakes. For now though, I’ve only explored the park on foot.

Well, here are some of the photos I took.

Runners in Bosques de Palermo

Runners (more like walkers) in Bosques de Palermo

The Greek Bridge

The Greek Bridge

The Greek Bridge

The Greek Bridge is one of the many entrances to The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden

A lovely couple walking through The Rose Garden

Smell the flowers

Just smell the flowers

Red brick

Crushed red brick is everywhere in BA

Fountains

After a 10km run I love to drench my head into the fountain water

The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden

Lady X

Lady X

Georgette

Georgette

Jean Giono

Jean Giono

Flowers

I couldn't find the name of these roses

Rose

I want to start singing The Rose by Bette Midler

Lake

The Rose Garden Lake, not the cleanest I've ever seen, but neither is Lake Ontario!

Palermo

The apartment buildings in Palermo are seen from a distance