Casa Rosada

I was robbed!

Casa Rosada

This is where I was heading when I was robbed. I'm still a little stunned. More pissed though.

I’ve maintained since arriving in Buenos Aires that if I was ever the victim of a crime, no matter how petty, I would return to Canada. I’m 32-years-old and I have never been robbed.

That winning streak ended today. As I was exiting Catedral subte station listening to Kathleen Edwards’ new album, Voyageur, I felt an itch in my left pocket. I moved to scratch it but I was distracted when my ear buds suddenly died. As I looked down, dangling from my pocket, was the chord, my iTouch long gone.

On street level I furiously spun around to find the culprit but instead laid eyes on a police officer standing on the corner. He shrugged his shoulders at me and laughed. How helpful of Buenos Aires law enforcement, eh?

To be honest I was a little embarrassed. To be pick-pocketed on a sunny day with hundreds of people as witnesses is a foreign experience for me. I can’t help feeling violated and angry. But nothing can be done about it now and I have to get over it.

My iTouch was given to me by my friend Alisha 5 years ago and I had thousands of songs on it. In addition to its sentimental meaning, I used it everywhere all the time, and I can’t afford a new one in Argentina because Cristina’s import restrictions are insanely ridiculous!

This adds to a series of bad luck I’ve been having this week. On Tuesday I was walking to Barrio Chino when I was almost physically attacked by a homeless man begging for change. I had to run to the opposite side of the street as he continued to verbally assault me.

An hour later while returning home from the bank a man walking behind me stepped on my sandal, causing me to stumble. Instead of offering his hand or apologizing he continued to walk as though nothing had happened. People around simply laughed.

These things don’t happen to me in Toronto! How can someone think it’s his/her right to take something that belongs to someone else? Oh well, life goes on. At least I’m safe and healthy.

Luckily, after being robbed I went to the Casa Rosada, possibly my favourite building in the whole world, and felt instantly better.

Here are some pictures.

Casa Rosada

I love this building

1

2

2

3

3

4

4

5

5

6

6

7

7

