Manhattan opening

Midnight In Paris was one of my favourite films of 2011 and I was happy that Woody Allen won the Oscar for best original screenplay last night. To celebrate, I have posted a clip from the opening scene of Manhattan, one of my all time favourite Woody Allen movies. I have always wanted to film something similar, only with Toronto as the central theme.

In Manhattan there are many iconic moments in cinematic history, none quite as magical as the Queensborough Bridge scene with Diane Keaton. Superb.

If you get a chance this week grab a copy and keep an eye open for three-time Oscar winner Meryl Streep’s supporting turn as Allen’s lesbian ex-wife.

I promise, this is the last post for today!

Meryl Streep is in a class all her own

Those who know me well know that I am a die-hard Meryl Streep fan. I own all her movies on DVD. My Meryl love affair began when I was a young boy watching Kramer vs. Kramer in the living room of my parents’ house. I didn’t understand why everyone thought that her character Joanna, was such a terrible person. To me it was obvious that she needed to leave her son to be a better mother. But such is life, we judge women more harshly than we do men, I knew that even at 6-years-old.

I was thrilled, right down to my toes (reference to a Meryl speech, which one?) when she won her third Oscar last night, two for lead actress and one for supporting. She is a marvel, and her talent comes only once in a lifetime.

Here are my top ten Meryl movies, that you have to see:

1) Sophie’s Choice
2) A Cry in the Dark
3) Out of Africa (also read the book, phenomenal!)
4) One True Thing
5) Adaptation
6) The Hours
7) Silkwood (The term, “The Silkwood Shower” was coined from this movie)
8) Julie & Julia
9) Ironweed
10) The Iron Lady (A lackluster film, but a tremendous performance)

Long live Ms. Streep!

The Bechdel Test

One of my major problems with the television show LOST, and almost all movies, is that the female characters were created to serve the story arcs of the male characters, and could not exist independently from them. What can you expect from male writers? What’s disturbing though is how few chances women have in movies and television to create influential stories for themselves, and how female writers fall victim to the demands of their male colleagues, who have less than flattering views of women. Women exist only to benefit the lives of men, and usually this revolves around sex.

Well, here is the Bechdel Test, sent to me by Lisa, that rates the 2011 Best Picture nominees’ representation of women in film. You’ll be surprised with the results. Or maybe not.