Meryl Streep is in a class all her own

Those who know me well know that I am a die-hard Meryl Streep fan. I own all her movies on DVD. My Meryl love affair began when I was a young boy watching Kramer vs. Kramer in the living room of my parents’ house. I didn’t understand why everyone thought that her character Joanna, was such a terrible person. To me it was obvious that she needed to leave her son to be a better mother. But such is life, we judge women more harshly than we do men, I knew that even at 6-years-old.

I was thrilled, right down to my toes (reference to a Meryl speech, which one?) when she won her third Oscar last night, two for lead actress and one for supporting. She is a marvel, and her talent comes only once in a lifetime.

Here are my top ten Meryl movies, that you have to see:

1) Sophie’s Choice
2) A Cry in the Dark
3) Out of Africa (also read the book, phenomenal!)
4) One True Thing
5) Adaptation
6) The Hours
7) Silkwood (The term, “The Silkwood Shower” was coined from this movie)
8) Julie & Julia
9) Ironweed
10) The Iron Lady (A lackluster film, but a tremendous performance)

Long live Ms. Streep!

8 thoughts on “Meryl Streep is in a class all her own

    • I had to limit my list to ten but honourable mentions must go to Angels in America, Kramer Vs. Kramer, The Bridges of Madison County, Marvin’s Room and well, just everything!

  1. The Iron Lady had me banging my head against a wall. I felt like there were a lot of really good *individual* elements to the film (such as the cinematography, the styling, the acting) , but somehow when it all came together, things didn’t add up and I was underwhelmed. Still a fabulous piece of acting by her though. And I appreciate how she waived her fee for the film.

    • I agree with you, I think it would have been best if they focused on one major milestone in her life as opposed to everything. It is nice that she waived her fee, I believe she donated it to the development of a women’s museum in Washington.

Leave a Reply

