Asado in Parque Pereyra Iraola

Parque Pereyra Iraola

Parque Pereyra Iraola, former owner's home, now a museum

An asado is a term used to describe a South American style barbecue usually consisting of beef cooked on a grill called a parrilla over an open fire. Due to the almost year-round beautiful weather, they are quite popular in Argentina. This afternoon I ventured all the way to Parque Pereyra Iraola outside of La Plata to watch other people eat a hell of a lot of meat. I had vegetables and bread. Fun.

Aside from the meat eating I had a great time resting on the grass and watching Argentines drink their mate. It didn’t hurt that the weather was fabulous. I love Argentina. There is no other place I’ve been where so many people are out enjoying the day in such quiet solitude. The majority of locals I’ve met are the calmest and easiest going people I have ever encountered in my life. From the bottom of my heart I thank them for teaching me so much peace.

Asado

A very low-key, but traditional Argentina asado

Yes I took a photo of meat. I figured I should see what all the fuss is about!

Horses everywhere

There were horses everywhere!

Road to La Plata

The road to La Plata

The market

After the asado I perused the flea market

Very interesting

This magazine is called "Very Interesting" so I had to take a photo

La Plata aerial view

The view from Mattias' and Cecelia's La Plata apartment

Leave a Reply

