How could this woman lie dead and undiscovered for almost three years?

Hot Docs, the Canadian International Documentary Festival, begins April 26 and runs until May 6. I just read this article about one of the films that’s making quite a buzz, called Dreams of a Life. It’s about a 38-year-old woman who lied dead in her apartment for three years. It’s a fascinating look at how in the age of ├╝ber communication, someone can go completely unnoticed.

Dreams of a Life runs Wednesday, May 2 at 9:45 p.m. at The Royal Cinema and Friday, May 4 at 9:15 p.m. at the Isabel Baser Theatre.

Potato soup for lunch

I love my slow cooker, also known as a crock pot, it is easily my favourite purchase in the condo. This morning I noticed a few sad looking potatoes in the fridge and decided to make soup out of them. It took about four hours, but was well worth it.

Ingredients:
5 pounds potatoes, peeled, cut into large chunks
1 large yellow onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon seasoned salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
8 cups vegetable stock

Put everything into the crock pot, cover and cook on low for 8 hours, or on high for 4. The potatoes should be fork-tender. After, transfer to blender and puree the soup. You can also add cheese.

To accompany the soup I also made a toasted avocado and spinach sandwich with chic peas and cherry tomatoes glazed in virgin olive oil. It was delicious.

Smoothies make me feel healthy

After a night of drinking too much wine the best remedy for depleted energy is a strawberry and blueberry smoothie. Nothing makes me feel healthier.

All you have to do is peel the banana, chop the strawberries, then add generous portions of yoghurt and blueberries to the blender and it practically makes itself. Don’t forget to include a few cubes of ice to keep it cool and then serve to your friends. You’ll feel invigorated in minutes.

Pancakes

Pancake breakfast

Pancakes

I love baking and cooking. I’m not particularly good at both, but I try my best. This morning I made buttermilk pancakes with strawberries and Canadian maple syrup and they were terrific. I was pleased with how round they turned out. Now I’m making potato soup in the slow cooker and the apartment smells wonderful.

Pancakes

Regina Spektor

“Lesbian issue sorted”

Summer Heights High is the best television show ever made. Next to The Golden Girls. Obvs. Ja’mie King rules.