Blurred Lines promotes rape, and if you don’t think so, you’re stupid

People say, “Hey, do you think this is degrading to women?” I’m like, “Of course it is. What a pleasure it is to degrade a woman. I’ve never gotten to do that before. I’ve always respected women.” ~ Robin Thicke

Sigh. I don’t know where to begin. I debated if it’s even worth highlighting what’s wrong with this song, and its music video.

Clearly we’re not over limiting a woman’s value to her sexuality, which is evident with the success of Blurred Lines by Alan Thicke’s talentless, 36-year-old son.

Blurred Lines is not music. This is what the music industry wants you to believe is music, but trust me, it’s not. What this song does is blatantly market our global hatred, and fear of women to make old, white men more money.

This song promotes rape. Yep, I said it. It suggests that no doesn’t always mean no and that some women who are raped, deserve it. It limits a woman’s worth to her appearance. The female sex has only one purpose, and that is to be conquered, and domesticated by a man, so that he can spread his seed.

Blurred Lines is thoughtless, offensive, retrograde and indicative of what’s wrong with our morally repugnant society’s view of women.

Thicke states that he’s married with children, and because of this fact, he can’t possibly be a misogynist. Fully clothed, surrounded by naked women, he repeatedly whispers, “Good girl, I know you want it.” Nothing says gentleman quite like that.

But wait guys, just wait. This is totally tongue-and-cheek right? I mean, people like me have to get a sense of humour. I’m some feminazi who just needs to take a chill pill.

I guess I would find this song funny if it wasn’t so cliché of men to think of nothing else but their dicks. In the video three men happily objectify women, confident that the naked models will succumb to their slimy advances, because, hey, they’re men.

A woman’s job is to arouse a man, and of course, when he’s horny, she should be ready to mount. And if she’s unwilling, but too sexy, he might find her too hard to resist. Better if she wore a Burka.

Thicke told VH1: “For me, nudity is the least offensive thing in the whole world. Guns, violence, war? That’s offensive. A woman’s body has been painted and sculpted and talked about since the beginning of man. What I enjoy about the video is that we’re not ogling and degrading them, we’re laughing and being silly with them.”

Is he for fucking real? He spends the entire video ogling naked women. Isn’t wanting to domesticate a woman degrading? Rhetorical question. I can’t help but find it insulting that he’s trying to pass as a progressive guy who thinks nudity is so great, but then doesn’t get naked for his own video.

But don’t worry guys, he’s not ogling the women at all. They’re naked because it was too hot in the studio that day. Oh and no fatties. No average body types in this music video. That’s just gross. But the female body is so beautiful, according to this moron.

I could go on and say all the same stuff I’ve written about in the past about the death of feminism. There’s a clear double-standard when it comes to gender roles, and the men always come out on top.

But I’m so disheartened that studios are able to cast real women in these music videos. Ladies, your value is not determined by how you look, or how fuckable a man thinks you are. And if you believe that, why don’t you ask yourself why men aren’t held to the same shallow standards they demand from you.

Robin Thicke’s song demonstrates the deep misogyny prevalent in the music industry and our global society. The fact that he remorselessly defends himself, for the sake of money and fame, is pathetic.

I worked with a man once, who was married, with two kids. Every four months our department would hire a new fresh-faced intern who was always a recent female graduate, eager to make it in the world.

My colleague was in his 40s and had no shame confessing that the “young ones, yeah, the young ones is where it’s at. I love young women because they’re so beautiful and easy.”

I stood there listening to him say this, astonished. His poor wife. Those poor interns. But you know what? This is more common than we’re willing to admit.

And worse, we reward men for behaving this way.

11 thoughts on “Blurred Lines promotes rape, and if you don’t think so, you’re stupid

  1. Unfortunately, this isn’t the first time that a so called “musician” promotes rape, or degrades women. The sad part is a lot of young women like this song, and don’t see how horrible it truly is. I have tried to have this argument with some friends, and some of them don’t get it. They told me: “what’s the big deal, it’s just a song” but it isn’t. Just like a film is not just a film, a joke is not just a joke, when something is offensive and degrading it shouldn’t be encouraged nor praised. Here’s something I think you’ll like: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/watch-this-video-the-feminist-blurred-lines-parody-that-gets-it-right/

      • I will like to thank you, because we need more men writing about this issue. I know there are lots of men who don’t agree with this behaviour and might be afraid to say something. It’s huge that men get involved in promoting equal rights.

      • You’re very welcome. Unfortunately most men believe that challenging songs like this one will tarnish their street cred, or the bro code, which prescribe to the notion that women are weak, and exist solely for their enjoyment/entertainment. They also fear that by speaking about women’s rights their friends will think they are gay. They also are raised to not care about anyone else but themselves and believe they’re an authority on every subject even when they’re not!

  2. You read my mind. I thought this video was quite offensive when I saw it. And I don’t get why this song is so popular. It sounds a lot like (the superior but still average) “give it to me”, by Madonna–and also proced by the Neptunes. I hope people can see the different between this piece of crap and tasteful videos with females in the nude like Gotye’s (I can’t remember the song’s name) or Bjork’s Pagan Poetry.

Leave a Reply

